Streamtime In Lake Jackson

In a surprise move not even the most optimistic follower might have expected, a compilation called Solid State Logik has officially hit digital streaming services this morning, including all hit singles from The Timelords, The KLF and The JAMs released between 1988 and 1991.

Officially announced via two fly-posters put up under a railway bridge on the Kingsland Road in London, this marks the beginning of a series of re-releases titled Samplecity Thru Trancentral, seemingly spanning the whole back catalogue of Bill and Jimmy under their various guises between 1987 and 1992.

Black/red on white poster detailing the release and planned chapters of The KLF's "Samplecity Thru Trancentral" series
Fly-poster announcing “Samplecity Thru Trancentral” put up under Kingsland Bridge on Jan 1st, 2021

For those of you who cannot make it to Kingsland Road, further information can be found on the official KLF YouTube channel along the remastered original videos as well as a redone clip for the KLF vs. ENT version of 3 a.m. Eternal.

KLF exist.

KLF have appropriated the work done between the 1st of January 1987 and 31st of December 1991 by The Justified Ancients of Mu Mu, The Timelords [and] The KLF.

This appropriation was in order to tell a story in five chapters using the medium of streaming.

The name of the story is SAMPLECITY THRU TRANCENTRAL.The five chapters are:

1. Kick Out The JAMs,
2. Pure Trance Series,
3. Come Down Dawn,
4. Moody Boys Selection
5. Solid State Logik (Part 1 & Part 2).

If you need to know more about the work done by The Justified Ancients of Mu Mu, The Timelords or The KLF, you can find truths, rumours and half-truths scattered across the internet.

The actual facts were washed down a storm drain in Brixton some time in the late 20th century.

Further information can be found on a poster, fly posted under a railway bridge on the Kingsland Road in London on the 31st of December 2020.

One of the two fly-posters also talks about possible outtakes to be part of the series. Whether this means alternate versions of existing tracks or completely unreleased tunes remains to be seen.

Happy 2021 everybody!

21 thoughts on “Streamtime In Lake Jackson

  1. If Solid State Logik is Chapter 5, why aren’t the earlier chapters available online? Or, if they are, where?

    1. because, as Spirit noted, ‘some were located in the past, some were located in the present and some were located in the future, in another type of distance away from each other…’ approx., iirc. See Spirit of ’76, monologue by Jack Bond. Explains everything.

  2. To be honest, the “Songs Collection” and “The Works” digital bootlegs have been up for a few years before being taken off recently to make way for these. I’m guessing “Solid State Logik 1 and 2″ are replacements to those, one with 7″ mixes and one with 12” mixes.

    Also find it funny how the new KLF YT has the Stadium House Trilogy videos (regular US/Arista promo videos) for WTIL and 3AM but not the original UK promo videos, which I prefer.

  3. This news is a a bit of a double-edged sword for me. On one hand I loved the fact they remained so elusive for so long and refrained from releasing their back catalogue, and on the the other hand thrilled their work is being released. It’s kinda like Banksy revealing his identity. MuMu Mofo’s!

  4. Their Spotify page has recently been updated with the Pyramid Blaster logo as their artist icon and the same bio and “Samplecity Thru Trancentral” banner as their YouTube. Does this mean volume 2 is coming soon?

  5. @Aaron Evans:

    You are writing “…….but not the original UK promo videos, which I prefer.”

    As you can see:
    There are no official “pure trance” 1988-90 videos. What you can find on YT are fan made videos (well done!) using sreens of the never released White Room film.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *