Solid State Logik 2 (12″ Master Mixes 1989-2017)

Published on 22 March 2021, Solid State Logik 2 compiles the extended singles and B-sides released on KLF Communications between 1989 and 1992 (and beyond as suggested by the compilation’s subtitle).

On top of those the (again digital-only) release includes some of the rarer post-KLF one-off singles, though their 1997 single Fuck The Millennium has been omitted from it – whether this was due to possible legal issues with Mute/Blast First or simply a matter of taste is unknown.

Rouding off the tracklist is an extended version of Jarvis Joins The JAMs, the version of Justified And Ancient as performed at the Welcome To The Dark Ages celebration in 2017, featuring Jarvis Cocker of Pulp fame. A shorter edit of this version had previously appeared as background music of the 2019 Toxteth Day Of The Dead trailer.

Promotion & Advertising

Like Solid State Logik 1 before it, this chapter was accompanied by flyposters announcing the release and its full tracklist.

Solid State Logik 2 is a collage made ‘mainly’ from the A sides, found on the 12″ 45s that were recordings by KLF under their various aliases between 1989 and yesterday. The other recordings used in this collage were randomly found scattered across time.Solid State Logik 2 Flyposter

Tracks & Formats

Solid State Logik 2

Digital Compilation / 22 Mar 2021
1 The KLF: Kylie Said To Jason (7″ A Side) [2021 Edit] 4:34
2 The KLF: What Time Is Love? (Live At Trancentral – 12″ A Side) 5:25
3 The KLF: 3 a.m. Eternal (Live At The S.S.L. – 12″ A Side) 5:54
4 The KLF: Last Train To Trancentral (Live From The Lost Continent – 12″ A Side) 5:35
5 The JAMs: It’s Grim Up North (12″ A Side) [2021 Edit] 10:32
6 The KLF: America: What Time Is Love? (12″ A Side) 9:01
7 The KLF: Justified And Ancient (Stand By The JAMs – 12″ A Side) 5:31
8 The KLF: America No More (12″ B Side) 6:03
9 K Foundation: K Cera Cera (12″ A Side) 4:34
10 The One World Orchestra: The Magnificent 2:15
11 The JAMs: Jarvis Joins The JAMs (Trailer) 4:29

Kylie Said To Jason is a new re-edit firmly sitting somewhere between the original 7″ version and the extended version.

Some of the bits throughout It’s Grim Up North have been altered throughout the song, including a slightly (though not radically) different breakdown section. It is also missing the crow sounds over the outro, though that might not be exactly something to write home about…

The version of Justified And Ancient is mislabeld “Make Mine A 99” but actually plays the extended Tammy version. The actual “99” mix might appear on the proposed Moody Boys Mixes chapter in the future.

14 thoughts on “Solid State Logik 2 (12″ Master Mixes 1989-2017)

  1. To be honest, I expected more of Part 2 extended versions, for example one or two of the 1989 Kylie Said To Jason B-sides like “Kylie in a Trance” or” Kylie said Trance” or even 3 A.M. Eternal (Blue Danube Orbital Mix), once of my most loved KLF Remixes that still is unreleased in digital form until now. The whole part 2 could have been done better !

    1. My aim is that “Kylie Said Trance” MAY appear on Pure Trance Series (the label for it even read “Pure Trance”), while “3 A.M. Eternal (Moody Boy)” and “3 P.M. Electro” have a very likely chance of appearing on Moody Boys Selected (considering that only 2 songs on the 89-91 remix maxi-singles were not by the Moody Boys). The other tracks you mentioned have an very unlikely chance of appearing on Samplecity Thru Trancentral.

      1. That probably depends on whether they want to eventually release all their material, or just stick to what fits the themes of the respective chapter. K Cera Cera and The Magnificent don’t really fit in with the other tracks on SSL2 either, so maybe those other mixes will sneak out on an upcoming chapter…

  2. I am very excited about all that KLF RE-releases this year, a little bit waiting for presents for me…

    Of course I would have loved a big CDs+DVDs Box with most of their work, because I am not that kind of consumer who likes streaming.

    Anyway, I compared the Mixes of SSL2 with my original Single-CDs back from the days, the sound on the actual releases ist way fresher and also louder. Can any HIFI pro just compare the releases with the “old, original” releases and say some words ?

  3. I had a dream a few days ago telling me “Kick Out D’Jams” will be the next release… That’s a volume I’m really hyped to see. From memory, most of Who Killed The JAMs should be “releasable” and maybe part of 1987 (but not the ABBA track).

  4. @Aaron
    I hope you dream won’t be true. I hate all that end 80s Jams stuff.

    Hope finally this Trance releases will happen, that’s my passion.

    MU !

    1. I can’t wait for the Pure Trance Series either, I’m also hoping they do release some “out takes” as promised on their first poster, hopefully it will contain unreleased tracks like “Love Trance”

  5. This album to me is when perfection just got better ! Absolutely loving it . Having owned all the albums for years it’s nice to finally see The KLF on a streaming platform .

  6. Where can we give you actual money for physical or digital copies of this? Real heads need more than just the streaming..

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *