Solid State Logik 1 (7″ Hit Singles 1988-1991)

Released on New Year’s Day 2021 Solid State Logik (Part 1) is the first in a series of digital re-releases compiling the works of Bill Drummond and Jimmy Cauty released under their various guises between 1987 and 1992.

Apart from their various Top Ten hits, Solid State Logik (Part 1) also includes The KLF’s own re-recording of 3 a.m. Eternal with Extreme Noise Terror which never had a digital release back in its day.

Tracks & Formats

Solid State Logik (Part 1)

Digital Compilation / 1 Jan 2021
1 The Timelords: Doctorin’ The Tardis (Radio) 3:36
2 The KLF: What Time Is Love? (Live At Trancentral – Radio) [2021 Edit] 3:56
3 The KLF: 3 a.m. Eternal (Live At The S.S.L. – Radio) [2021 Edit] 3:52
4 The KLF: Last Train To Trancentral (Live From The Lost Continent – Radio) [2021 Edit] 3:52
5 The JAMs: It’s Grim Up North (radio edit) 4:04
6 The KLF: America: What Time Is Love? (US 7″ mix) 4:07
7 The KLF: Justified & Ancient (Stand By The JAMs) [2021 Edit] 3:48
8 The JAMs vs. Extreme Noise Terror: 3 a.m. Eternal 2:48

Tracks are mostly similar to their late 80’s/early 90’s counterparts except for a number of small changes:

  • most notably the missing intro/outro vocal samples on Last Train To Trancentral which in turn features an additional 8-bar section before the outro similar to the 12″ version
  • What Time Is Love? is the radio edit but with the uncensored MC5 sample from the 12″ version
  • 3 a.m. Eternal has a slightly longer ending applause but is otherwise identical to the 1991 radio edit
  • the version of America: What Time Is Love? was previously released on the US CD single only and features a slightly different arrangement similar to the longer edits including all three verses, whereas the UK radio edit had previously dropped the second verse, moving the third verse (“The final chapter…”) before the breakdown
  • Justified And Ancient has a slightly longer intro, repeating the “Hey Hey, All Bound For Mu Mu Land” part similar to the pre-verse sections throughout the rest of the track


12 thoughts on “Solid State Logik 1 (7″ Hit Singles 1988-1991)

    1. They are using “the medium of streaming” so I’m guessing no you can’t. There might be bootlegs in the future.

      1. play in a web browser and use a sound editor to record it – but this only gets a digital copy on your device not a nice shiny piece of vinyl…

  1. Infomation about track versions:
    1. Radio edit
    2. 2021 edit, uncensored “Kick Out The JAMs” intro
    3. 2021 edit, ending applause lasts longer
    4. 2021 edit, based on regular radio edit but without “Okay everybody…” and “Over and out…” and slightly longer ending
    5. Radio edit
    6. US 7″ version
    7. 2021 edit, the slightly change is almost unnoticeable
    8. Standard version

      1. Noticed you forgot the J&A change, it’s in the intro (there’s an extra “mu mu land/mu mu land/all bound for mu mu land” than the regular single version).

        1. It certainly makes sense from a songwriting perspective since now we get both Chike’s “Jusitifed” and “Ancients Of Mu Mu” bits during the intro rather than just the former.

  2. Let’s get some vinyl releases! I want these tunes but on something tangible. Sucks when you still want a CD or vinyl to hold in your hands.

  3. Part 2 is out. All songs are original versions, but “Justified & Ancient (Stand By The JAMs 12”) is mislabelled as the “Make Mine A 99” mix because it has the “They travel the world…” spoken verse. “Jarvis Joins the JAMs Trailer” is a bonus track

    1. Kylie Said To Jason is an edit somewhere between the 7″ and 12″ version as it includes all three verses from the full version, the intro from the radio edit, and a slightly stripped down third chorus.

      It’s Grim Up North has the crows removed from the outro. Not really a mind-blowing change, mind you.

      An entry should go online later today or tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *