The What Time Is Love Story

The What Time Is Love Story is a six-track mini compilation released in the wake of the success of What Time Is Love? in Europe, gathering various cover versions compiled by Alex Paterson (The Orb) as well as a live version performed by The KLF at Land Of Oz.

The next release will be JAMS LP4 – THE WHAT TIME IS LOVE STORY (25th Sept).

This is a six-track, 40 minute mid-price LP. It’s a sample of some of the illegal (it’s in their karma) cover versions of everybody’s favourite arm-waving-in-the-lasers track, that have been popping up all over Europe this year. Also included is a recording of the K.L.F.’s premier live performance at The Land of Oz on 31st July 1989.KLF Info Sheet #6, Aug 1989

According to rumours the original title was to be “Now That’s What I Call What Time Is Love!” until the producers of the “Now That’s What I Call Music” series complained. While this rumour has yet to be confirmed a slight variation of the slogan ended up on the sticker coming with the LP.

An LP for under a fiver, now that’s what I call love!Sticker

The “What Time Is Love” Story replaced the then still planned (and eventually scrapped) White Room Soundtrack as JAMS LP4.


If you do the right thing and fall asleep with this album in your headphones or trip the light fantastic, you become covered with more goosebumps than any self-respecting plucked Christmas bird and start having very pleasant dreams about vampires dipping their fangs into your expectant jugular.
Helen Mead, Unknown
Helen Mead
This LP collects the original, a live version, plus various house, Italian and Belgian-style “tributes”, of which one wonders why all the vocalists sound so alike (and British, even when praising Allah), and wouldn’t it be a good scam if you released 18 different versions scattered across Europe? On the other hand, seeing as the whole thing sells for under a fiver, you could just enter into the spirit of it all and just have fun with some rather good dance music.
Ian Cranna, Q Magazine, Dec 1989
Ian Cranna

Tracks & Formats


LP Album / 25 Sep 1989
A1 The KLF: What Time Is Love? (Mix 1) 7:05
A2 Dr. Felix: Relax Your Body 6:32
A3 K.L.F.S.: What Time Is Love (Italian Mix) 6:10
B1 Liasons D.: Heartbeat 5:55
B2 Neon: No Limit (Dance Mix 4’58) 4:58
B3 The KLF: What Time Is Love? (Live At The Land Of Oz, 31 Jul 1989) 8:43


CD Album / 25 Sep 1989
1 The KLF: What Time Is Love? (Mix 1) 7:05
2 Dr. Felix: Relax Your Body 6:32
3 K.L.F.S.: What Time Is Love (Italian Mix) 6:10
4 Liasons D.: Heartbeat 5:55
5 Neon: No Limit (Dance Mix 4’58) 4:58
6 The KLF: What Time Is Love? (Live At The Land Of Oz, 31 Jul 1989) 8:43

6 thoughts on “The What Time Is Love Story

  1. So, has anyone ever heard a clean rip of this album from the CD? I’ve grabbed several digital copies of it over the years online all have been crackly vinyl rips, I digitised my own vinyl copy a while back but it was rough to start with, so not much better, one day I’ll find a CD copy that won’t need me to sell one of the kids first to finance it, though it’ll probably be bronzed to death by then

  2. @Jones:

    About 10 years ago I bought the original CD at ebay for about EUR 70. 2 years later I sold it on ebay again. I made an exact copy of the original CD using the program EAC.
    Let me know if you need a copy of this item, I transfered the WAV to FLAC.

      1. Let us know when you have sent this so we can delete Wolf’s email from his comment. Don’t want his inbox being flooded with requests. 😉

  3. Ok, thanks a lot.

    A pleasure to help this time, but I can’t save the world 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *